NOTE: An explanation of abbreviations, terms and how-to for the coupons is in development. Be patient with me!

Went on a shopping trip today to Dominick’s and CVS strictly for the purpose of getting items for our church’s food pantry (which is getting bare!).  This is what I bought and how I made the most of it:

CVS Pharmacy (all items on sale 5/16-5/22).

  • Zone Perfect bar $1
  • Herbal Essences Shampoo $2.99
  • Dial 3-pack bar soap $1.88
  • Mennen Lady SpeedStick $2.99

Coupons used:

  • $0.35/1 Dial soap  3-07-10 RP
  • $0.50/1 Zone bar (received via mail)
  • $1/1 Herbal Essences 5-16-10 RP

Extra Care Bucks used: $6.99 from a purchase made last week.

Total paid out-of-pocket: $0.83

ECB Received: $2 for Herbal Essences, $2 for SpeedStick, $1 for Dial soap.

Dominick’s:

  • (2) Classico Pasta Sauce 15 oz. $2 each
  • (4) Kellogg’s Corn Flakes 12 oz cereal $1 each
  • (2) Safeway spaghetti pasta FREE
  • (1) Lucerne 16 oz deli cheese slices $2.99
  • 1# 80% ground beef $3.03
  • Pork Loin chops $2.76
  • Boneless Skinless organic chicken tenders $7.83

Coupons used:

  • 30% off chicken (on package) – $2.35
  • 30% off pork chops (on package) – $0.83
  • $1/2 Kellogg’s corn flakes coupon (printed online – expired)
  • $1.50/2 Kellogg’s corn flakes coupon (3-21-10 RP – expired)
  • B1G1 Classico Pasta Sauce (value: $2.00) (1-10-10 SS – expired)
  • Buy 2 Classico Pasta Sauce, get $1.50 off beef purchase coupon (3-14-10 SS – expired)
  • Buy 2 Classico Pasta Sauce, get 2 Safeway pastas FREE (current sale from ad – no coupon involved)

Total out of pocket: $15.91

Dominick’s Quick Tip #1: Know when your grocery store marks down meat. I picked up all of these meats in the discount section. If I don’t use them in the next day or so, I can freeze them and they will be fine.

Dominick’s Quick Tip #2: Know your store’s coupon policy. Dominick’s accepts expired coupons (not all stores do this).  Because of this, I was able to use the coupons listed above for free cereal, pasta sauce, etc.

On my way out, I picked up O Organics coupons (found at the Pharmacy counter) to use the next time I am in the store.

Freecycle:

On my way to church, I made a Freecycle pickup for some FREE infant formula.  Dropped off everything, including the formula,  at the food pantry except the meats and the cheese.

